Types of Racehorses and Ratings

horse race

Whether you enjoy thoroughbred or Harness racing, there’s a race for you. Learn about the Belmont Stakes, Santa Anita Handicap, and more! You’ll find out why these races are the best in the country. You’ll also learn about the different types of racehorses and how they are rated.

Harness racing

Harness racing is a form of horse racing where a horse pulls a two-wheeled cart called a sulky. In Europe, this cart is called a spider or a chariot.

Thoroughbred racing

Thoroughbred racing is a sport and industry that is governed by different national bodies. The sport consists of two main forms of racing: flat racing and jump racing. The former is called National Hunt racing in the United Kingdom, and the latter is known as steeplechasing in the US.

Belmont Stakes

The Belmont Stakes horse race is one of the most prestigious races in the racing world. It is a Grade I stakes race for three-year-old Thoroughbreds, run over 1.5 miles. Colts and geldings carry 126 pounds, while fillies carry 121 pounds.

Santa Anita Handicap

The Santa Anita Handicap is a Grade 1 horse race held at Santa Anita Park in California. The purse is $100,000, which is quite a large amount for a horse race. This race is also known as the “Hundred-Grander” and “Big ‘Cap.”

King’s Plates

The Queen’s Plate is the oldest Thoroughbred horse race in Canada. It was founded in 1860 and is one of the oldest continuously running races in North America. It is run over a distance of 1+14 miles and is open to only three-year-old Thoroughbred horses foaled in Canada.

Standardbred racing

Standardbred racing is a type of horse racing that uses Standardbred horses to compete in a prescribed gait. In North America, this type of racing is called harness racing. The horses are pulled by trotters and piloted by a driver. In Europe, this type of racing is performed using saddled trotters.